Jon Szenics reviews

JON SZENICS reviews

Fretless Days Gone By (2006)

CD Jon Szenics fretless days gone by cover

Classification – Jazz/Blues/Rock

This CD is quite unusual in the fretless genre, because it is composed of Jazz (blues/rock) standards, nothing wrong with that of course, in fact everything right!

Jon has collected some outstanding musicians and slotted together a very satisfying songlist. So much so that we’ve listed all the tracks below with full credits, and just for background, website links to all the artist’s pages.

To say we are jealous of Jon is an understatement, he gets these guys together, with a gorgeous Hammond backdrop, and then these super sexy chicks to head up the vocals. Meatloaf’s Deena Miller, Deanna Johnston (backing vocals INXS) to name drop two. Once again if you don’t believe – go check out the websites!

Jon does give the vocals a rest on the Miles Davis number, Walkin’, this is a superb stand out fretless track, and Jon gets a very nice tone on his custom rig, building the majority of valve amps and effects to his own design.

The overall result is a very enjoyable CD, which is now coming off the deck and going straight in the car, and you can’t say better than that.

Fretless Days Gone By – Tracklist

1. I Just Wanna Make Love To You (Willie Dixon)
Vocals: Deena Miller
Bass: Fabrice Calmettes
Drums: Michelangelo D’Amico
Hammond Organ: Gianni Giudici
Guitar, Fretless Lead Guitar: Jon Szenics

2. Tell Me Something Good (Stevie Wonder)

Vocals: Victoria Razel Jones
Bass: Aaron Chesler
Drums: Scott Yacovino
Guitar, Fretless Guitar: Jon Szenics

3. Walkin’ (Miles Davis)
Bass: Marc Ensign
Drums: Scott Yacovino
Hammond Organ: Gianni Giudici
Fretless Guitar: Jon Szenics

4. Summertime (D. Heywood, G. Gershwin)
Vocals: Victoria Razel Jones
Bass: Aaron Chesler
Drums: Scott Yacovino
Hammond Organ: Tony Monaco
Guitar, Fretless Guitar: Jon Szenics

5. Freeway Jam (Max Middleton)

Bass: Marc Ensign
Drums: Scott Yacovino
Hammond Organ: Gianni Giudici
Fretless Guitar: Jon Szenics

6. Better Days (D. Lorentz, J. Szenics)

Vocals: Dawn Lorentz
Bass: Aaron Chesler
Drums: Scott Yacovino
Hammond Organ: Andre Fratto
Guitar, Fretless Lead and Rhythm Guitars: Jon Szenics

7. Chameleon (P. Jackson, H. Mason, B. Maupin, H. Hancock) Feeling Alright (Dave Mason)
Vocals: Megan Conner
Bass (Chorus): Aaron Chesler
Fretless Guitar with BassTubeOctave: Jon Szenics
Drums: Scott Yacovino
Hammond Organ: Andre Fratto
Guitars, Fretless Lead Guitar: Jon Szenics

8. Move Over (Janis Joplin)

Vocals: Deanna Johnston
Bass: Fabrice Calmettes
Drums: Michelangelo D’Amico
Tambourine: John Butler
Piano: Andre Fratto
Hammond Organ: Gianni Giudici
Guitar, Fretless Lead Guitar: Jon Szenics

Production Credits

Recording, mixing and production engineer: Michelangelo D’Amico
Arranger and co-producer: Jon Szenics
Recorded, mixed and mastered at: Chunky Productions, Tarrytown, NY
Cover Photography: Gary Brown, Zachary Szenics
Cover Art: Zachary Szenics

Contributors’ Websites:
Jon Szenics: www.gofretless.com
Fabrice Calmettes: www.fabonbass.com
Megan Conner: www.myspace.com/megconner
Michelangelo D’Amico: was www.chunkyproductions.com
Marc Ensign: www.marcensign.com
Andre Fratto: was www.greatwatersmusic.com
Gianni Giudici: www.jazzitalia.net/artisti/giannigiudici.asp
Deanna Johnston: http://deannajohnston.net
Victoria Razel Jones: was www.victoriarazel.com
Dawn Lorentz: www.dawnlorentz.com
Deena Miller: www.deenamiller.com
Tony Monaco: www.B3monaco.com

Review – Jahloon, May 2006

More Music Reviews